Atlas Model Railroad Co. - turntable/220 controller dilemma.
Atlas Model Railroad Co.
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register
Forgot Password?
  Atlas Model Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Rules   FAQ  
Active Topics | Members | Online Users | Forum Archive | Basic Forum (Mac / Netscape Users) | Search | Statistics
[ Active Members: 0 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 32 ]  [ Total: 32 ]  [ Newest Member: jjbern ]
 All Forums
 Atlas Model Railroad Forums
 N Scale Model Railroad Forum
 turntable/220 controller dilemma.
 Forum Locked |   Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic: Amtrak slow?? History of this car?? Topic Next Topic: Intermountain CabForward still on track w BLW?  

cameramonkey

Posted - 2010 December 14 :  11:49:01 AM  Show Profile
I'm a novice builder building my first layout, and I have a question regarding the use of a 220 controller to control my turntable.
I have the "updated for 2008" version of the complete atlas wiring book (#12) and I found a rather confusing example of the use of a 220's XY direction switch output to control my atlas motorized turntable. Instinctively I assumed I would use either a fixed 12VDC output, or an AC output with a rectifier to drive the turntable motor.

first which could be adding to my confusion is a possible typo. On page 16 in all figures they show DC (I assume variable loco) connectors on the right end of the power packs. however in figure 2-12 on page 17, they show the output labels swapped as well as the connections. Now that I look through the entire book, the output type locations vary throughout the entire book. (not very good editing in my opinion)