Atlas Model Railroad Co. - Rapido Couplers verses the rest
Atlas Model Railroad Co.
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register
Forgot Password?
  Atlas Model Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Rules   FAQ  
Active Topics | Members | Online Users | Forum Archive | Basic Forum (Mac / Netscape Users) | Search | Statistics
[ Active Members: 0 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 27 ]  [ Total: 27 ]  [ Newest Member: jjbern ]
 All Forums
 Atlas Model Railroad Forums
 N Scale Model Railroad Forum
 Rapido Couplers verses the rest
 New Topic |   Topic Locked |   Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic: 2008 wish list? Topic Next Topic: MP15AC Bash  

Flxw1

Posted - 2008 February 04 :  11:56:25 PM  Show Profile
I mean really i'm a newbie I will admit but Rapido couplers are so much easier to deal with all the others. I will also say that rapido couplers aren't very realistic looking. MT Magna couplers are nice.
Well what do all of you think here. That's my two Bits

fordhamroad

Posted - 2008 February 05 :  12:29:35 AM  Show Profile
-Rapido couplers are fine reliable couplers, but they look like boxes. They are also difficult to uncouple automatically. That's why serious N scalers began to convert their cars and locomotives to Kaydee/Microtrains couplers years ago, and why major American producers such as Atlas and Walthers have switched to a magnetic type coupler which is similar to the Microtrains coupler. Kato has a different one which is nearly compatable.
-so, much of the older rolling stock is Rapido, and most of the new stuff is Microtrains or similar.
-as an old timer, I have a lot of older pieces. For passenger trains, I have not bothered to convert. I just run the whole set together. For some engines and freight cars I have converted, so they will run with newer products.
-I also have a lot of European type cars and engines still using Rapidos and plan to leave them so.