Atlas Model Railroad Co. - track cleaning with Flitz
Atlas Model Railroad Co.
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register
Forgot Password?
  Atlas Model Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Rules   FAQ  
Active Topics | Members | Online Users | Forum Archive | Basic Forum (Mac / Netscape Users) | Search | Statistics
[ Active Members: 0 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 31 ]  [ Total: 31 ]  [ Newest Member: jjbern ]
 All Forums
 Atlas Model Railroad Forums
 HO Scale Model Railroad Forum
 track cleaning with Flitz
Next Page
 Forum Locked |   Topic Locked |   Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic: Thursday Proto Photo Fun- February 21, 2008 Topic Next Topic: Kato UP SD90s ???
Page: of 2

basementdweller

Posted - 2007 March 07 :  10:33:14 PM  Show Profile
I have read on here many times about using Flitz for polishing track.
I have not cleaned track in a looooooong time, and this job is past due.
I usually clean track with alcohol and a rag, I have never used Flitz before.
I assume that I clean track in the usual way then go over it with the Flitz?

My concern is that I will get it on the outside of the weathered rails and on the ballast, and create a mess.
Any advice?
Martin.
It's all scenery.

dean

Posted - 2007 March 08 :  07:23:31 AM  Show Profile
Martin, clean as you do normally with the alcohol and a soft cloth. You can Flitz the rails but if doing so, use it sparingly on a cloth to aviod the issues you addressed. Flitz will definitely leave your rails clean and shiney and increase conductivity.

dean

Santa Fe all the Way....Middle Division Emporia Sub Circa 1976 - 1986
Hoping someone someday will make a quality ACF 4600

E Heney

Posted - 2007 March 08 :  07:59:03 AM  Show Profile
I use Happich Simichrome Polish on the few feet of brass I have. I apply it directly to a damp cloth, then use it like an automotive paste wax.

If you have brass, "clean" the rails using isopropyl, then use this...you won't believe how much more dirt/oxidation comes off.